Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Needy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2023
Hi I have very little knowledge about computers .The other day decided to to try and up grade my old 2010 MacBook but made the mistake of trying to load an operating system with out removing the old one first .
Tried every thing from you tube but cannot fix can some one please tell if I open it up and put new hard drive in will that get rid of boot up problem
Thank you

mortlocli

macrumors 6502a
Feb 23, 2020
Do you know if you can boot up an OS from a USB stick?
I don't know about MacBooks but my 2009 iMac can.

There's lots of Linux systems to try, but I've been using MX-Linux(with
Fluxbox)
It has a good start up menu to fix any probs.
Get an operating system working from a USB stick, then you should be able to install it to the hard drive..and start over with osx if ya want.

Needy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2023
Do you know if you can boot up an OS from a USB stick?
I don't know about MacBooks but my 2009 iMac can.

There's lots of Linux systems to try, but I've been using MX-Linux(with
Fluxbox)
It has a good start up menu to fix any probs.
Get an operating system working from a USB stick, then you should be able to install it to the hard drive..and start over with osx if ya want.
Thank you very much

Needy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2023
I have tried all the option key command R and every thing else all I get is flashing folder if I go A different route I get a spinning globe with no where to type underneath which ends up going yo 2002f or some thing so I thought I good just stick in a new hard drive would that clean it out and I would get up grade at the same time.
Thanks

mortlocli

macrumors 6502a
Feb 23, 2020