Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macduke

macrumors G5
Original poster
Jun 27, 2007
I'm completely new to Raspberry Pi and am a somewhat technical person but don't have much experience with setting up something like this, but have some questions about a couple things.

I've got my Pi 4 setup and working fine on Raspbian with Homebridge and so far it seems nearly flawless compared to when I tried to do the same thing last year on my iMac. Not sure if the software is better or what, but I love the web UI for Homebridge now.

Anyway, I've got a 4TB and 6TB external WD USB 3.0 drives that I'd like to hook up to it that are formatted ExFAT, and one has a macOS Extended partition for Time Machine. Will I be able to get these working with the Pi or will I need to format them to something else? Is there a guide that someone can point me to that explains how to do everything step by step to set it up as a file server? My initial searches were kinda all over the place. If I have to drop support for the Time Machine, that's fine, and I have a spare drive that I could potentially keep around and plug into my iMac when I want to run backups for that.

I figured a Pi 4 with 4GB of RAM should be enough to handle things which is why I went for more RAM, though I thought 8GB seemed like overkill. Just didn't want to be limited. It won't be a heavy duty file server as it will mainly be for archival storage when I need to get some old photos or project or move old stuff off my iMac so the drive won't fill up. I'll probably only use it a couple times a week to grab things here and there, but when I do dump stuff to it in bulk off my SSDs (maybe once every month or two) it can be a couple hundred gigs at a time when I take a lot of 42MP RAW photos that I want to back up.