Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thmusic7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 23, 2015
Hi. I am a professional Music composer and producer. I need to upgrade my equipment for memory and performance sake. I'm on a budget of $1,200, but willing to spend a little more (or less??) to get what I need and want. Here's what I have right now.

A mid 2012 MacBook Pro at 2.9GHZ DUAL CORE INTEL i7 with a Samsung EVEO 850 and 16 gigabytes.

Unfortunately, the display doesn't work so I’m forced to use my 2010 iMac at 3.06 GHz Intel core i3 and maxed out to 12 GB of memory nhz DDR3. I'm using logic X as my DAW and Today's tier ONE Plugins.

As many of you know already, VST's are memory and performance hogs and my ancient computers Are slow. So here is the summary of my research so far.

Yesterday, I went to Experimac. I told the salesman about the issues I'm having with performance, speed and memory. When I told him that I was on a budget, he first tried to Recommend the newest Mini Mac. But to my knowledge, well at least what I remember hearing about and reading about, Mini Macs don't Satisfy the need for speed and memory.

He next recommended the 2017 late addition of a 27 inch iMac. He talked to me about the bells and whistles of the memory and performance. The only issue was that is I'm not sure I want to spend $1399 on a 2017 model and I'm also Flirting with the idea of moving away from Intel.

Half satisfied, I left and got on the horn with Apple. They recommended the latest addition of the 27 inch iMac. I was excited about the customizable options with RAM, storage and memory, but not sure if the cost would justify it. Maybe I could get the lowest. Amount of storage and use a. External tower. Then I could shell out the extra cash and. Get more than 32 gigabytes of memory.