Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

osxhero

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 23, 2010
I've been running on two computers for the last two years: Dec 2015 iMac loaded to the max for the time. Dell G7 maxed in late 2020 with a big Nvidia card, etc.

Got my new Mac Mini Pro fully loaded with 1TB internal drive. What I've experienced is a little mind blowing for the money.

• Boot time: HALF A SECOND, if the Apple logo during boot brought you solace, well, I'm sorry, you'll rarely see it for more than a split second.
  • Blender 3D Heavy Render Test: Pitting the Mac Mini Pro against my beastie Dell Workstation laptop G7 (32GB Ram, Nvidia running Optix), the Mac Mini Pro still came in five minutes faster on a super complex 4k rendering. Normal render time was 20 mins. Now 15 mins.
  • World of Warcraft: Hey, I stopped playing, it was boring, looks old right? Soon after launching it on a Mac Mini Pro....whao! It's like a completely new game. The resolution hasn't been behind. My old systems couldn't render it any better, and the Dell G7 was never meant to game. I run a 27GN950 4k monitor and this brings me back to the days of wetting myself a little during game play.
  • Android Development: Launching a Google Plus (33) emulator takes about two to three seconds and your app will be running.
Thought you folks might find this feedback valuable if you're on the fence. It really is a little rocket machine.

Cham2000

macrumors 6502
Mar 11, 2022
I've been running on two computers for the last two years: Dec 2015 iMac loaded to the max for the time. Dell G7 maxed in late 2020 with a big Nvidia card, etc.

Got my new Mac Mini Pro fully loaded with 1TB internal drive. What I've experienced is a little mind blowing for the money.

• Boot time: HALF A SECOND, if the Apple logo during boot brought you solace, well, I'm sorry, you'll rarely see it for more than a split second.