Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pilot Jones

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 2, 2020
Would love your help since I'm a long time MacBook Pro user here and not very knowledgable about Windows machines. My dad's Lenovo Yoga 910 is utterly falling apart (keyboard freezes, malfunctioning SSD reader, etc.) so he really needs a new Windows PC soon.

He's sort of an enterprise user...lots of MS Office (especially Excel & Word), browsing, banking, document signings, data management, etc.

These are the key features/specs that would be present in an ideal machine. Could compromise on a few of these if the machine presents a good overall value.
  • Less than $800 in price
  • Preferably a thin & light Ultrabook, but a little bulkier than that is also fine
  • Bright screen
    • At least 350 Nits (his vision isn't great so he always cranks the brightness way up)
  • At least 16GB RAM
    • He's a browser + tab hoarder, often with 15+ tabs open across 4-5 different browsers each
    • Occasional light Photoshop use
    • If the laptop is good but minus 16GB RAM, we're down to upgrade it ourselves
  • SSD, no HDD
    • 1TB would be incredible, but least 512GB
  • Metal chassis
  • Backlit Keyboard
  • At least 1 USB-A port
  • Touchscreen would be a nice bonus but is absolutely not necessary
Looking forward to your recommendations!

Last edited:

MBAir2010

macrumors 603
May 30, 2018
there
Dell xps 13 or what ever screen size dad needs
the laptop is solid, had a great thermal process and the palm-rest is comfy fibered
mine is from 2019 and was chosen over the macbook that year.
i have no problems and if windows 10 is available, that is a plus.
or
mom has the acer yoga…..or something like that in an asian name.
the 16gb might break the bank tho

Reactions: Pilot Jones

Pilot Jones

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 2, 2020
Dell xps 13 or what ever screen size dad needs