Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ranstone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2017
I just got a HDD for my golden oldie Mac.
In a classic example of the disadvantages of on-board sound, when the HDD writes or reads, the static byproduct coming through my speakers/headphones sounds like an there's an Atari game running in the background.
I have two older HDDs attached, and neither have this issue.

I'd be interested in Ideas on how to lower the static pulses and waves whenever I interact with it. I'm editing sound a lit, and it makes it difficult.
All Ideas are welcome, and as I'm just learning on why HDDs can even make this interference in your headphones, I'd love any tips, or things you think I might need t know/got wrong.
This isn't dangerous, is it?

Information of varying Realivence...

Machine Name: iMac
Machine Model: iMac4,1
CPU Type: Intel Core Duo
Number Of Cores: 2
CPU Speed: 2 GHz
L2 Cache (shared): 2 MB
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM41.0039.B00
Serial Number: W86061BRU2P
SMC Version: 1.1f2

HDD that's (indirectly) giving me issues.

http://www.dell.com/en-ca/shop/wd-2...s&acd=123088137920560&VEN3=810603787653400825

Bonus points:
How do you spell "Realivence"? Google doesn't know. ;)
[doublepost=1512433902][/doublepost]Also, my Mac has frozen up thrice since I plugged in the new HDD. On average I get 5 freezes a year.

jerwin

Suspended
Jun 13, 2015
relevance...

and now I'm doomed to answer your question.. ah well.

Ferrite beads might help.
Or, using the WD Drive Utilities, you can switch the LEDs off...

The instability is more than somewhat worrisome.

Personally, I have a headphone amplifier/DAC connected via optical cable.... My mac isn't noisy, per se, but when I had a PC back in the 1990s, it was a great way to avoid the static associated with the sound card to CD connection. Fun times.

Last edited:
Reactions: Ranstone

Fishrrman