Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rasvoja

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 1, 2021
Belgrade, Serbia
Dear fellow MOS / MacPPC users,

I have been thinking how to improve my iMac G5 experience

PROBLEMS
Apple BIOS is in tiny fonts and my eyesight is operated and bad (ablatio retinae)
and its hard to find some special characters. Any help here is greatly appriciated.
Entering BIOS and booting from CD requires strange key combo at least for PC Amiga users :D

My G5 is second hand, has a bit bad speaker sound and not so clear screen and just 1GB RAM and mechanical drive, and has installed Leopard on drive and I boot MOS from CD.

I have managed to install MOS only by formating whole hard drive.

Even I have extensive experience with CFE, some with Uboot and have tried all PPC Linuxes on x-1000
I did not manage to start Linux PPC install.

I understand there is no GUI Boot menu a la GRUB possible. Is there a simple way to enter BIOS and boot from some parition, like UBoot had boota, bootb or similar command or CFE had path line from where to start?

WISHES

- Hardware upgrade RAM to 2-4GB if possible for MacOS and Linux
- HW upgrade: Installing clean larger SSD that can work with old SATA? Which models?

Pointing 101% working parts on ebay, offering them for late 2024 or early 2025 would be grately appriciated

- SW upgrade: installing to hard drive, Registering MorphOS at end of 2024 (is it 100e for G5 via PayPal?)
- SW upgrade: IF possible, installing that "unofficial Snow Leopard PPC" crossmix with latest updates that I find on Mac forums and Mac Garden

- SW upgrade: IF possible, installing Linux PPC (prefered LinuxMINT or Debian based distro with LXDE and MATE, plus some browser and some version of Libre)

- SW upgrade: Out of those 3 OSs which can easily emulate Classic MacOS 8.1 m68k or MacOS 9 PPC?