Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Linuxpro

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 31, 2015
Singapore
I know I will get "flamed" for this question, so before I start, I want to point out that I am not new to technology. I was a computer geek back in the TRS-80 days. I learned UNIX in the US millitary. I have worked in IT since 1996. I am a Linux admin. I develop apps in both Linux and Windows. I am no Luddite.

I bought my first iPad in 2011, and my first iPhone in 2012. I did not know anything about iMessage. I am somewhat colorblind so I did not note the difference between the blue and green bubbles. I am not sure if I ever sent or recieved an iMessage as apposed to an SMS.

I noticed the green icon on the iPad. I noticed the badge changing. I thought it was forwarding SMS from my phone. I moved the icon to the third page of my home screen, and never gave it a second thought.

In May of 2014, I visited the California (I live in Singapore). I heard all the press about iMessage. I do not need the headache, so I turned it off. When the "tool" was made public, I dissociated my phone number.

I was in the USA again, so while I was there, I bought an iPhone 6+, and an i Pad 3. Both had iMessage enabled by default. I repeated the phone number process. I cannot dissociate my eMail. How can I do so?

I just want to be as isolated from iMessage as possible, yet still use my Apple devices. I have no patience for problems.

Thank you for reading my long question. I hope reading it was not as difficuilt as typing it on my iPad. :eek:

Last edited:

Linuxpro

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 31, 2015
Singapore
Go into Settings - Messages and sign out of your Apple ID in Messages (Turn off toggle).
That should turn it off completely.