Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

philly019

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2022
Recently, a client's mid 2011 27" iMac died on him. His repair guy said it was beyond repair & worthless.

He was gonna throw it out if I didn't want it. It seemed like such a waste so I said thank you & took it home.

Physically, it looks to be in mint condition. No scratches anywhere. It powers up, the screen flickers but the iOS never launches. I have a newer 24" iMac but would love the bigger screen to do my design work on.

*** Please keep in mind I'm an old school graphic artist. I know how to use computers, not how to fix them or all the intricacies of how they work inside. Feel free to talk to me like I'm technically illiterate so I don't miss anything. I won't be offended. I just want to know if I should get rid of this machine or if there's some value left in the old thing. ***

Their repair guy told him "Your motherboard is shot. It's just fancy trash now." Was he right or might there be some other problem with it?

If he's right about the motherboard/logic board, is it worth replacing?

If so, can it be upgraded somehow & where is the best place to purchase a replacement/upgrade?

If not, is there any use for the machine as it is? Perhaps as a 2nd monitor to my existing iMac or another computer- like a Mac Mini?

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Before going further, try this:
1. Boot to INTERNET recovery:
Command-OPTION-R
at boot

2. If you're connecting via wifi, you'll need your wifi password. The internet utilities can take a while to load, be patient "as the globe spins".

3. Can you get to the internet utilities?

Note:
It's not "iOS" on the Mac.
It's "Mac OS".

Reactions: CooperBox

rpmurray

macrumors 68020
Feb 21, 2017
Back End of Beyond