Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Penguinforce

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 19, 2023
Hi, apple experts. I am looking at purchasing mbp M3 pro. I'm pretty new to Apple products and MacOS in general so would be great to get advice and suggestions here :)

This purchase is to replace my now 12 years old Windows desktop with something more portable. I've been wanting to make the jump into MacOs for some time now. At first I was looking at M2 air but really felt the extra power and ports options offered by mbp might be more ideal if I want to keep this for at least 6 years.

This device is mainly for personal use.

• Web browsing + YouTube + listening to music. I generally have 30+ tabs open.
  • Side coding projects using IDEs such as Intellij and/or VSCode. I also have interest in learning iOS app development as well.
  • I'm interested in running parallels for messing around with Windows 11.

Currently I'm looking at the base 14inch MBP M3 pro 18GB/1TB. Which comes to €2829. I'm tempted to get the 36GB option as I always felt more RAM never hurts. However it is an extra €460 which is a steep price to pay for extra 18GB 😅

Also is AppleCare+ worth it? It is an extra €300 for 3 years.

gpat

macrumors 68000
Mar 1, 2011
Italy
It looks like you've identified a good choice for your needs.
18/1TB is a sweet spot, for sure.
AppleCare is a good purchase but I've opted to pay for it year by year (automatic renewal).

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
AC+ support is excellent although you could self-insure. For what you described, the 18GB model can fulfill your needs. Should your workflow drastically change a few years down the line, the scenario might have a different outcome.

Spanky Deluxe

macrumors demi-god
Mar 17, 2005
London, UK