Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JSchwage

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 5, 2006
Rochester, NY
Hi all. This is my first time using Time Machine and I've got a question I can't seem to figure out the answer to (yes, I searched). Is there a way to restore individual photos from my Photos library using Time Machine? Based on my searches it seems iPhoto use to allow you to do this by clicking Enter Time Machine while iPhotos was open, but when you do this with the new Photos app, it just opens up a Finder window. The only thing photos-related that I seem to be able to restore from a backup is the entire library. If I accidentally permanently delete a photo I want to restore, I want to be able to browse individual photos using Time Machine instead of needing to restore the entire library.

I'm running Monterey currently on a Mac mini as a local iCloud backup "server". Is this just a Monterey issue perhaps? Am I missing something here?

NoBoMac

Staff member
Jul 1, 2014
Just a guess here, based on the Monterey comment: guessing Time Machine is using an APFS formatted partition, so can see that can't do individual pictures as APFS TM is a bunch of snapshots vs a HFS+ "filesystem" of files and hard links that make for a traversable copy in older versions of TM.

Also, newer versions of Photos have been burying changes/deltas in database files. Metadata, edits, etc. Also have original vs edited copy of the file, so trying to get the "picture" is pretty much only a partial "success" when retrieved from backup without using Photos.

So, yeah, in this day and age, probably will need to restore a copy of the library to a different location or name and use the Option key when invoking or using Open in Finder on the restored .photoslibrary file to get to the restored library and photo(s).

JSchwage

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 5, 2006
Rochester, NY