Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FoamCup

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 30, 2016
Hello. I was wondering how much RAM would be enough for me. I am going to be encoding, editing, rendering, and capturing video with the programs being active in the background. While I am waiting for the programs to batch encode and render video, I want to be able to still have enough power to use the computer. Such as internet browsing, listening to music, and/or watching a movie. All at the same time without experiencing any lag, stutter, freeze, hiccup, slow down, beach ball.

I am not tech savvy and please help. Thanks!

Floris

macrumors 68020
Sep 7, 2007
Netherlands
I recommend SSD drives, and at least 8gb ram for os/progs and another 8gb for the extra heavy lifting. So 16gb ram should be fine.

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
Hong Kong
TBH, hard to tell, the video size, codec, and which browser, how many tabs, what's the content..... all of these factors can affect the required RAM usage a lot.

However, for your reference, when I am using FCPX + encoding + browser (with flash content) + photoshop still open... My Mac can use 42GB+ of RAM (not including cache). So, may be you are looking for 48GB or more.
42+5+compressed de-ID.jpg

I recommend SSD drives, and at least 8gb ram for os/progs and another 8gb for the extra heavy lifting. So 16gb ram should be fine.

2013 Mac Pro only has SSD option.

Reactions: ActionableMango

FoamCup

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 30, 2016
TBH, hard to tell, the video size, codec, and which browser, how many tabs, what's the content..... all of these factors can affect the required RAM usage a lot.

However, for your reference, when I am using FCPX + encoding + browser (with flash content) + photoshop still open... My Mac can use 42GB+ of RAM (not including cache). So, may be you are looking for 48GB or more.
View attachment 669135