Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aarono2690

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2024
I found the Slickdeals Microcenter deal and got Best Buy to price match. Scored the M3 15” 16gb/512gb for $1,223 before tax. Computer is currently awaiting pickup at my local Best Buy. I’m trying to decide if I need this computer or if the adrenaline of a good deal over took me.

Here is my current setup:

- Desktop gaming PC with 3080ti

- iPad Pro 12.9 with Magic Keyboard

- Work provided laptop strictly for work. I am a CPA and have a lot of restrictions for security reasons - my laptop is only for work.

I currently do not have a personal laptop. Here are my concerns regarding keeping the MBA:

- iPad Pro has a better display

- MacOS still doesn’t have all the streaming apps I use. Can’t download all the movies I want before a flight for instance or area of no service.

- Not sure if it fills a niche or role I require.

- Can handle light gaming, but anything heavy and I’m going to my PC.

Here is what makes me want to keep it:

- Currently do not have a laptop.

- Sidecar capabilities with my iPad

- Currently learning drums/piano. Hope to join a band in the future. Might be useful to have a good laptop for recording and learning editing/production.

- Want to learn Python. My CPA job keeps me chained to the desk for hours everyday. Might be nice to sit outside with a coffee and the MBA while I learn Python.

- It’s a great deal. Not sure if I’ll see something similar for a while.

Money isn’t a huge concern, but I also don’t want to waste money. I wanted this communities thoughts before my order pickup window closes.

Thank you!

chevyboy60013

macrumors 6502
Sep 18, 2021