Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MikeMcCollister

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 14, 2021
Charlottesville, Virginia
I have been using Screen Time App Limits for a few months ago starting with iOS/iPadOS 16.x. It worked most of the time synching between both devices. It got a little worse with iOS/iPadOS 17.0 but now with iOS/iPadOS 17.1 it no longer shares between devices. To try to kick this back into working, I deleted the App Limit on both my iPad and iPhone. I then created a Facebook App Limit of 15 minutes on my iPhone but it has not shown up on the iPad. I do have "Share Across Devices" enabled on both devices.

Anyone have any ideas how to get this to work or is this just another bug?

Reactions: katialondon

katialondon

macrumors newbie
Oct 30, 2023
Just chiming in to say that I've had the exact same issue since 17.1., with 2 iPhones and 1 Macbook and 1 desktop, with "share across devices" enabled on all of them (and they're all updated to the latest OS release). It used to work ok-ish until iOS 17 and now it's not working. In particular one of my iPhone doesn't show up at all in the screen time dashboard on other devices. The other devices show their screen time information but with a delay or inaccurately.

rspeaker

macrumors 6502
Jan 1, 2006
I wiped my iMac two weeks ago because Screen Time wasn't syncing at all to the computer. I tried disabling, signing out and back into my Apple ID, but nothing worked, so I did a from-scratch erase and install.

Result is... the iMac now shows up in Screen Time across all my devices, but usage is always incorrect. Screen Time usage is usually properly synced between my iPad and iPhone, but it's a crapshoot what my iMac and MacBook Air will "sync" for their usage.

Just the other day, after making sure all devices showed "Updated today, X:XXpm," my stats looked like this:
  • iPhone: 4h56m
  • iPad: 4h57m
  • iMac: 3h31m