Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bambina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2020
Hi! I had installed the security update 2020-005, which slowed my Mac to unbelievably low levels so I had to restore using a snapshot. It took my Mac back to just before installing the security update and now it's working fine.

I've noticed that there's a supplemental update, but the security update still shows in the updates list. What should I do? Install both? Neither?

Screen Shot 2020-10-04 at 14.44.15-2.png

Bambina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2020
Thanks for answering! Is the security update still buggy? My Mac took like 30 min to boot with that one. I really don't want to experience that again.

Does it install both updates at the same time? Or does it install the security update, then boot, then install the other one? Sorry, I'm kinda new to all this.

davidlv

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2009
Kyoto, Japan
Thanks for answering! Is the security update still buggy? My Mac took like 30 min to boot with that one. I really don't want to experience that again.

Does it install both updates at the same time? Or does it install the security update, then boot, then install the other one? Sorry, I'm kinda new to all this.
Apple pulled the first version of that security update, so the 005 version you are seeing is the "new improve version on sale!" Back when both the security update and the Safari update were first released, you had to do them in the right order to avoid a mess, but Apple has resolved that issue, so you can just install them both. If you prefer, use terminal and run the following commands in order:
sudo softwareupdate --install "Security Update 2020-005-10.14.6"
restart immediately and then
sudo softwareupdate --install "Safari14.0MojaveAuto-10.14.6"

Bambina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2020