Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

andrecamapum

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 4, 2019
I'm just new in Mac (macOS Mojave 10.14.6 - MacBook Pro 15", 2019) because besides being more ergonomic, it has some specific keys used in my language. In addition there are some other very useful keys: "print screen", "page up", "page down", "home" and "end". Unfortunately I found that they are not automatically set when plugging the keyboard into the macbook. First I made a configuration (there was no file or directory, so I had to create them) in KeyBinding/DefaultKeyBinding.dict as follows:
{
"\ UF729" = "moveToBeginningOfLine:";
"$ \ UF729" = "moveToBeginningOfLineAndModifySelection:";
"\ UF72B" = "moveToEndOfLine:";
"$ \ UF72B" = "moveToEndOfLineAndModifySelection:";
"\ UF72C" = "pageUp:";
"\ UF72D" = "pageDown:";
}

Everything worked perfectly for a while, but suddenly the setting no longer worked. During this time I just tried to install a GUI for tesseract, apache-maven, a latex editor, and a program that uses emacs interface. I have no idea what happened. I tried to redo the file, but it didn't work. I tried the app "KeyFixer" also unsuccessfully. Karabiner worked for the "page up" and "page down" keys, but the "home" and "end" keys don't work like windows. I would like them to work like this:

end: end of current line
home: start of current line
ctrl + end: end of document
ctrl + home: start of document

I would also that like the shift key combined with any of the above shortcuts to select the text in focus.

Honza1

macrumors 6502a
Nov 30, 2013
US
You do realize, that these functions already exist?
opt+arrow left is move one word left
opt+arrow right one word right
cmd+left move to start of the line
cmd+right move to end of line
cmd+up move to start of the document
cmd+down move to end of document
So why remapping them?