Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

threepmdesign

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 19, 2016
Hi, I am new to MacRumors, but have been a Mac user my entire life. This is the first thing has frustrated me to no end. Forgive me if this has already been addressed in a past forum post:

I am trying to install a new email account in my Mail from my company's hosting company.

Right now, I have an email address from my company that works perfectly in my Mac Mail. It was installed prior to me upgrading to El Capitan (10.11.3). Recently, I was asked to provide very detailed instructions to my fellow employees (we all work remotely along the east coast) on how to install their email addresses in Mac Mail.

To do that I set up a Test email on the server and attempted to walk through the set up. Right off the bat, my computer told me the username/password could not be found on the server. which wasn't true. Everything was typed in correctly. After multiple attempts, it finally went through. I made sure the settings for the new account matched (minus the username/passwords) the existing working account. Meaning, i made sure the incoming/outgoing ports were matched, etc.

As always when attempting to set up emails since the El Capitan, i am able to receive emails but not send. It will ask me to put in my password for the account and when i do it tells me it doesn't work. I tried resetting the password, uninstalling and reinstalling the new account, restarting the machine. Nothing seems to work.

The hosting company does not have anyone on staff experienced enough with Mac to walk me through this and basically told me it was a platform issue and not a hosting issue.