Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

T-bag

Original poster
Jan 20, 2011
Good day all! I need your help with a decision (again) :).

Having changed to a 17" MBP recently, from a 13", I'm in the market for something smaller as a secondary unit.

Something about me and my computing-needs
I'm an engineering student. I don't like dragging a 17" to school very often, but I do like to be able to check the web at campus when I please. I use the old pencil and paper for note-taking whenever possible. I also like watching movies and such when traveling.

The idea is to keep this unit in my bag at all times, bringing it with me instead of the 17" when I can.

The iPad IS nice, I had the first generation for a couple of weeks before the iPad 2 launched, but returned it to get the iPad 2 (or as of now, maybe a netbook). The main reason I'm considering a netbook is the price. I'll save roughly 180$ if I buy a Asus Eee 1015PEM. I don't wanna spend more money on this unit than the cost of the 16GB iPad 2.

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=4Bf6sc0o5FMGABzh

I figure both units can do the same (the netbook a little more), and since I already have an iPhone 4 - why even considering an iPad 2? If my reasoning has any flaws, please correct me before I make a mistake here.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
iPad is even smaller and maybe a bit quicker to use (take out of the bag, and it's ready to operate immediately, even faster than laptop's sleep mode). You get 10 times more storage with the ASUS so if that is important at all, the netbook will be better. 16GB isn't that much if you want to have movies in it.

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
Detroit