Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Germwise

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 2, 2009
I am currently a molecular biology grad student.

I am very close to graduation and I am in the process of writing a grant and later my thesis. My main use for the ipad would be to read scientific papers and organize them. Maybe some email and light surfing.

I'm an apple fan and I have my MBP, but for my phone i've gone to google because I am unhappy with ATT and I detest the way apple controls its app approval process (I have many developer friends).

My question is in your opinion, is the ipad a good reading device? furthermore would it be good to organize lots of PDFs, could I organize them into folders? I've seen there is an Ipad app called papers that might help. Is there another science user in the forum that could advise me if I should get an ipad or maybe in my case a google tablet with a open file system?

I'm curious to hear your thoughts.

iWannaBeAdored

macrumors 6502
Apr 25, 2010
Scotland
The iPad is a good reading device yes. You could read PDFs through good reader, email (I think) and drop box. Those are the 3 I have used anyway.

mcdj

macrumors G3
Jul 10, 2007
NYC
OP, scientific PDFs can get pretty big, with hundreds of pages and graphics. You might consider borrowing one to test out a PDF reader before committing.

The iPad is great at many things in a casual way. It's usually not the best choice as a serious tool for any one focused task in my experience.

If the iPad were a car, it would be a dune buggy. Great fun to tool around in, can take you where you want to go most of the time, as long as where you want to go isn't too far or too demanding.

GinoDotCom

macrumors regular
Apr 7, 2010
I wish this iPad was around when I was a student.

Go for it.. The device is great for reading especially while on the run when MBP is not as convenient to lug around.

conchshell