Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Toycrane320

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2022
I’m really confused and need your help! I had a Macbook Pro 15inch which was my main computer and i spilled liquid on it and it could not be saved :’( i should have been careful. I now need a new laptop and was able to get M1 Pro 14inch £1,899 16GB 512SSD. I was able to get student discount at the time which meant that by paying £8 more i also got a £120 gift card and 3 yrs Apple Care. I also got the M1 Air for £1,399 but no student discount. This one is also 16GB 512SSD. I really don’t know which device to keep. My main uses are generally browsing, neflix/youtube, connecting to tv, outlook365, zoom. I do a bit of photo and video editing but i’m only a beginner. The Pro has a bigger screen and nice to look at ofcourse, it also feels more sturdy. But the Air has no fans and is portable, easier to type. Which device should i keep? Is it worth just saving £500 and returning the M1 Pro 14inch?

Last edited:

Sheepish-Lord

macrumors 68020
Oct 13, 2021
Try to find the 14" at an even cheaper price. They are routinely $400-500 off on Amazon, Best Buy, and other US retailers multiple times a year so I have no doubt they will be around the holidays. Not sure where you live exactly but I would like to think you could get a similar deal.

Reactions: mabaker

Queen6

macrumors G4
If you don't need the 14" MBP's additional performance and screen size, go with the M1 Air as they are plenty fast enough. If money is of no concern and you like the 14" keep it. Given your questioning the cost the M1 Air seems to be the safer bet.

Q-6

tstafford

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2022