Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JMac1996

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 21, 2016
Germany, Flensburg
Hey Guys, ;)

so as you can read I am interested if there is a way to shutdown the new Macbook Pro's 2016 by jsut closing the lid.
Are there Apps, which allow this kind of actions? o_O

Also I would like to get some more information about the stock sleep mode from Apple.
When I close my Macbook Pro, the fans are spinning a while before they stop. That's what drives me crazy.

I am a student and I would love to close my Macbook Pro and slip it into my bag.
Of course I don't want to do that when the machine is on. (Happened once with an Dell XPS 15. It was active in my Bag. When I arrived home, the whole bag was hot and the Dell was overheated. Not damaged, but it refused to turn on until it was cooled down.) :eek:

So I never ever wanna experience this kind of stuff with my new Macbook Pro, so is there a way to just close the Macbook and put it in a bag?

How does the Sleep mode handle that kind of usage? :confused:

Thank you for your advice. :)

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
I see you've been making the most of the new emoji bar!

In answer to your question: there isn't a native way way I know of to set it to shut down when closing the lid, like you can in Windows. Possibly somebody here may be able to suggest a third-party application. However just closing it and putting it in your bag while the fans are still spinning won't do any harm; people have been doing that for years.

You won't encounter the same issues as you did with your DELL XPS.

Reactions: JMac1996

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
I actually have incurred the same issues, where I thought the MBP was asleep, but it didn't fully come down, pulled it out of my bag, its was hot and the fans were blasting.