Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aquatwo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 31, 2005
Hertfordshire, UK
Hi guys,
Had my Powerbook 2 days now. And last night set my alarm so that I dont sleep all Sunday and miss time with my precious beauty.

I am new to macs and just feel a bit lost. Here is what happened:

I bought it on ebay, but it was brand new in box, still was very worried about it not working properly, but got some advice here to check the specs etc before collecting and it all seems to work beautifuly.

Being a newbie, I immediately started searching for a free firewall download so that I can protect my baby while I research the matter further. After a little while it became aparent that the firewall is part of OS X and all these amaizing things are just happen on the background while flap around worriying. So I relaxed back into my chair and started to learn about my new machine, played around with settings etc, finally got to the security settings and realised they were all disabled...

So my PB was totally open for at least 4 hours!! Now I am really worried that I may have "let something in" some spyware or virus or something, and cant seem to find anywhere where I can scan for it or get any kind of peace of mind that I am clean and secure.

This could be total paranoia, but i also had a thought that prev owners may have left a present for me....?

Am I being totally insane or should I do something about it, and if yes what?

I hope you guys can put my mind to rest.

Thanks
aquatwo

TMA

macrumors 6502a
Jan 6, 2003
England
aquatwo said:
So my PB was totally open for at least 4 hours!! Now I am really worried that I may have "let something in" some spyware or virus or something...

I've left all my macs 'totally open' for at least 5 years... Not had one virus or one instance of spyware.