Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

e.m.

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 18, 2005
San Francisco
Hello all.

I am planning on purchasing a SM7b for recording my vocals in the near future. I decided to go with this mic instead of similar or more expenisive condensors because there are lots of uncontrollabe noise in my room (such as the train), and thought it would work better.

I have been recording on my Roland VS 890 for about 10 years, and plan on using that as my multitrack in the future, although I have (finally) started looking at some software solutions as well (I have the last revision G4 PB15). The more I learn about software recording, the more it appeals to me.

If I were to continue recording on the VS, all I would need would be a good preamp (suggestions most definitely welcome if you have some) because my understanding is that the sm7 needs quite a bit of gain for it to really shine.

I was thinking though, if I go the software side, I would need an interface too. Are there any digital audio interfaces that has strong enough pre's (gains) that would work well with the sm7 (low noise at high gains)? Because if there is, I can bypass purchasing the stand alone pre, just get an interface, and record on my PowerBook now. But if there isn't an interface that can do this, I would purchase the nice preamp to use on my VS now, and that way, whenever I make the switch to the Mac (from the VS, not a PC :) ), I will still use it to plug into whatever digital audio interface I purchase.

Looking forward to your insights and knowledge.

e.m.

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
great mic. you're right about the gain, so if it's in your budget grab an FMR RNP mic pre. it's one of those rare "better than what you paid for" pieces, and it's got a lot of nice, clean gain. the tracks recorded through it stack upon themselves nicely, i've found.