Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wowfunhappy

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 12, 2019
...and I'm looking for recommendations.

I'm not sure which direction to go in. I need something fairly powerful (relative to 2013), so it can still be used comfortably in 2020 and beyond. On the other hand, I greatly value portability in laptops, preferring the Macbook Air line in the past—so I'm not sure what direction to go here.

I was originally hoping to go the Hackintosh route, which is something I have a lot of experience in (on desktops). But, well, I forgot how *bad* Windows laptops are. I bought an HP Elitebook Revolve 810 on eBay, because it's quite powerful, and unlike any Mac it can convert into a tablet! (Yes, with a fully working touchscreen, on OS X!) But, the trackpad is terrible, the microphone is unusable awful, and the speakers are too quiet... PCs always manage to screw up on the details.

So I'm back to looking at real Macs. Should I just go with a 2013 Air or should I try a 13-inch Pro? And, any tips on finding a fully-upgraded model in good condition?

CooperBox

macrumors 68000
Can we assume that you require Mavericks because you have software which is limited to OS 10.9?
You're probably aware that either a 2013 MBAir or a 13-inch MBPro will run the latest release OS 10.15.
If it were me I'd certainly choose a 2012 13-inch MBPro (non Retina) over the Air and 2013 MBPro. Why? All the components—including RAM and SSD are proprietary on the MBAir, and the RAM cannot be upgraded, so most models found on the market are stuck with the original 4GB. The 2013 13" MBPro has a proprietary storage drive connector which is not directly compatible with common M2 drives without a special adapter. Plus I believe the RAM cannot be upgraded.