Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blackout8

macrumors member
Original poster
May 24, 2006
So i'm finally getting a Mac (Macbook 1.83 with 1GB Ram). What made me choose a Mac over a PC i hear you all ask?... well a lot, but Garageband had a huuuge influence on me (later to be logic but i'm a poor student heh). Trouble is i've never really recorded music on a computer before, so i dont know what i'm doing.

My Rig (So its not pro gear, but hey i'm working on it haha!):
Ibanez GRX 40 Electric Guitar
Peavey Rage 108 Amp 15 watt (oh god, i'm desperate for a replacement... http://www.helpmegetamarshallstack.com anyone :rolleyes: )
Yamaha PSR 280 Keyboard (Has Midi in/out as well as General Midi but i dont know what GM is...)

The keyboard came with a midi cable to connect to a computer, but i bought it ages ago, and it uses serial (i think) imputs to get into the computer, which the macbook obviously lacks!...

So. Help me fill in the gaps! :D ... From reading the forums here and elsewhere I guess i need something like this (?) Guitar -> I/O -> Garageband... or maybe guitar -> Amp -> Mic -> I/O -> Garageband but the amp sounds like, well you get the idea. Anyone recommend anything for me? Do i have this right and if so what I/O should I look at?

Now, Keyboard. It has some reasonably decent instruments built in, but would I be better off using it as a controller only for GB's instruments? How would I go about doing both of those? Once again heres my guess for it acting as a controller for GB: KB -> I/O with Midi in/out -> Garageband.... what about using the keyboards inbuilt instruments?