Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bunnspecial

macrumors G3
Original poster
May 3, 2014
Kentucky
I am a college professor, and one of my long-term projects is to make video lectures for my online ansynchronous classes. I'm hoping to work on it this summer.

Basically these would primarily be me sitting and talking, but what is key is the ability to screen share. I also need one of two things-either a virtual white board that I can draw on with a graphics tablet, or the ability to toggle to a document camera(showing me writing on paper).

I have some old lectures that were recorded in Zoom during a live, synchronous class. Unfortunately I can no longer use these as other students present are readily identifiable and are active participants so I would need to track all down for their permission.

My inclination is just to use Zoom to do these just using my personal meeting room with no one else present, but I'm wondering if there's a better alternative out there. I know I CAN do it with Zoom and am comfortable with rapidly doing all the functions I need(whiteboard, screen share, etc) but if there's something better and/or easier I'm open to it.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Reactions: rm5

rm5

macrumors 68020
Mar 4, 2022
United States
Zoom for sure would be easy and straightforward to set up, hence why so many teachers used it back during the pandemic, although it does have limitations resolution-wise, which can make things look like crap on big hi-res monitors. Have you tried OBS? You can assign all your cameras to different "scenes" and then you can switch between them. You can also capture your whole display, or just individual windows. You can download it from their website if you wanna try it out. Other than that, I honestly think Zoom would be a great option for you!

Last edited:

tragicwinding

Suspended
May 23, 2023