Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FoX1112

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 22, 2021
Hello, I have a Macbook Air M1 512GB. I am a teacher, I am thinking about getting iPad 10.9 64GB as my secondary device. Sometimes I need more screen space and do not have access to an external monitor. I would also use it for browsing, youtube, etc. I have a question about using iPad as a secondary monitor. I know there is an apple app that allows mirroring on the device. Can I also use it as an extended monitor where I can control what's going on? For example, I open a TV show I have saved on my mac, drag it to the ipad and control it from there, pausing it, increasing volume etc, without interacting with my mac screen at all, where I may have something else going on. Thank you!

cupcakes2000

macrumors 68040
Apr 13, 2010
Hello, I have a Macbook Air M1 512GB. I am a teacher, I am thinking about getting iPad 10.9 64GB as my secondary device. Sometimes I need more screen space and do not have access to an external monitor. I would also use it for browsing, youtube, etc. I have a question about using iPad as a secondary monitor. I know there is an apple app that allows mirroring on the device. Can I also use it as an extended monitor where I can control what's going on? For example, I open a TV show I have saved on my mac, drag it to the ipad and control it from there, pausing it, increasing volume etc, without interacting with my mac screen at all, where I may have something else going on. Thank you!
If you mean as a second desktop from the Mac via sidecar, then yes indeed you can. It behaves the same way as a normal second screen behaves.

Arctic Moose

macrumors 65816
Jun 22, 2017
Gothenburg, Sweden