Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macduke

macrumors G5
Original poster
Jun 27, 2007
Who else is buying this thing? I've been using Canon since 2005 and am finally making the switch (at home, not yet at work). Sony is finally catching up in the lens department for their FE mount. I rented the A7rII this summer and this new camera seems to address most of my concerns with this new A7rIII.

Specs that I cobbled together from multiple sources:
  • BSI 42.2 MP full frame sensor same sensor
  • 4K HDR video at 24p and 30p
  • Full HD video at 120p
  • ISO 100 to 32000 (expandable to ISO 50-104,200)
  • 10fps (10fps no black out. At 8fps there is momentary blackout)
  • 14 bit raw for everything including continuous shooting
  • 5 axis stabilization to 5.5 stops
  • Battery with same 2.2x capacity from the A9
  • Physical dimensions are identical to the Sony a7r II
  • All the new stuff is inside with the exception of the Joystick from the Sony a9
  • 15 stops of dynamic range
  • Faster autofocus from the A9
  • Eye AF now operates at double the speed
  • No optical low pass filter
  • Low vibration shutter, completely new shutter
  • Bionz X processor
  • USB-C 3.1
  • Two SD card slots (faster UHS-II)
  • Raw compressed buffer at 87 photos and uncompressed is 28
  • Pixel shift multi shooting to capture more color (169MP, processed on computer)
  • 399 phase detection AF points
  • Contrast AF points: 425
  • 68% of the sensor area covered with AF points
  • 2x faster autofocus than the previous camera
  • Subject tracking performance has doubled in effectiveness
  • Touch functions on the screen: AF-on, multi selector and anti-flicker
  • Fast AF and exposure tracking at 10fps
  • 8fps shooting continuous Live View
  • Dust and moisture resistant
  • 3.69 million dot OLED "tru-finder"
  • PC sync port
  • Can now record to server via FTP
  • Externally power the camera via USB