Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maestrox

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2021
Hello everyone,

I'm a media composer. I am using BigSur, my system is installed on 2TB m2 SSD.

I want to speed up my 16 TB Exos Seagate sound library archive with another 1 TB m2 SSD via FusionDrive. So I will not install an operating system.

Since "cs storage" is not working in BigSur anymore, I connected two disks to another computer and applied the following commands via HighSierra at terminal. And I created a FusionDrive. (I guess)

Code:
diskutil coreStorage create myLogicalVolGroup /dev/disk1 /dev/disk2 (SSD first)
diskutil coreStorage createVolume lvgUUID jhfs+ "Fusion 100%

But at this point, I want to confirm if I did it right, before I loaded the whole backup.

What I want is to use 16TB of space and speed it up with a 1TB SSD. But I'm not sure if I did it right by marking 100%. I mean the part I'm stuck with is the last percentile. It was 17TB of space. In other words, I didn't understand whether the speed will decrease after passing 1 TB. I want the SSD to have an effect on the entire disk, like a kind of cache.

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_7819.jpg
    IMG_7819.jpg
    748.2 KB · Views: 137

ignatius345

macrumors 604
Aug 20, 2015
Years ago I did a DIY Fusion Drive in my old Mini. It worked brilliantly and proved quite durable. I haven't heard of using a Fusion Drive on a non-startup volume! I hope it works out for you.

I do recall that when I was setting mine up, there was some Terminal command that would reveal whether files were being migrated to and from the SSD part of the drive automatically as they should.

Long term, though, I do wonder how long Fusion Drives will be supported in the OS. I don't know if any are even configurable on new Macs at this point. But I suppose you can cross that bridge when you come to it.

maestrox

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2021