Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MDarwish

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2017
Hello,

I am on an MacOS Sierra - iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)

Since I read that APFS is not initially supported for fusion drives, I thought of splitting my fusion drive to SSD and HDD, then clean install High sierra on the SSD with a bootable USB, so I get the APFS on it.

Has anybody tried this? Do you recommend doing so? Or just clean install normally (without splitting the fusion drive) and wait for the support update?

macflint

macrumors newbie
Jun 21, 2017
Canberra, AU
Yep - just did exactly this. I have the OS and all apps on the 120GB SSD (using around 30GB so far). My home directory is on the 2TB HDD. Both are formatted using APFS.

For me this is working great - as a developer, I am always starting and stopping apps, and my data files are generally small. I have 40GB RAM which also helps.

Fusion did a great job, but I feel more comfortable with separate drives.

MDarwish

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2017
Yep - just did exactly this. I have the OS and all apps on the 120GB SSD (using around 30GB so far). My home directory is on the 2TB HDD. Both are formatted using APFS.

For me this is working great - as a developer, I am always starting and stopping apps, and my data files are generally small. I have 40GB RAM which also helps.

That's great.

One question though:

How did you put the home folder on the HDD drive and not on the SSD? The reason I felt splitting will not be a good idea is that I have a photo library of about 350GB and it needs to be on the system drive (or whatever it is called) for the iCloud Photo Library to sync properly.

If I can split the fusion, yet have my home folder on the HDD, will it work?

Alrescha

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2008