Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cherrycat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 20, 2018
I'm looking to buy an iMac 27" 5k 2017 and I'm torn between two options:

1. i5 3.4 GHz 4GB video memory, 512GB SSD - 3000$
2. i5 3.8GHz 8GB video memory, 2TB fusion (128GB SSD) - 2600$ (it is currently on sale)

I hear everyone saying that going full SSD is much better than a fusion drive, but is the difference that big that it can justify getting an i5 3.4GHz 512GB SSD over an i5 3.8 GHz 2TB fusion (128GB SSD) AND paying 400$ more?
Also, if I get the 2TB fusion, I might get an external SSD as I hear they are faster than internal HDDs (that is in the case I find the iMac to be slow... which I kind of doubt anyway?)

I'm an illustrator working mainly for print (so larger files than agerage I suppose) in Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator and planning to use iMovie and FCP in the near future. I won't be editing 4k footage anytime soon. I'm also upgrading from a very slow and outdated Windows PC that I'm currently using.

I would love to hear your advice! Thanks!

mj_

macrumors 68000
May 18, 2017
Austin, TX
My advice, as someone who was surprised how well even the 1TB Fusion Drive actually performs in the real world: get the $2,600 model with 2TB Fusion Drive and use it for a few weeks. If you notice slowdowns due to the Fusion Drive get an external 500 GB SSD (Samsung T5 for example) and use it instead. At the end of the day you'll save $300 but end up with a higher-specced machine. The SSD certainly won't be faster than an internal one - in fact it'll be slower. But you won't be able to notice the difference.