Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wirewick

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 19, 2014
Hello all,
I recently bought a 2020 MacBook Air that I have been setting up the last couple days. This is not my first Mac. I setup the 2020 Air as new machine without migrating any files, but I did sign in with my Apple ID and setup iCloud.

I found myself looking around in Keychain Access and noticed some things that seemed odd. Im not an expert user and Im very new to keychain access so I was hoping to get some help here.

The first thing I noticed was an item in login, Certificates.

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 4.03.08 PM.png

Im confused as to how this got here since I did not transfer any files. Did this come from iCloud? I was under the impression that iCloud keychain access only saved Safari passwords. Also it is in the "login" keychain not the "iCloud" keychain.
Since Mac says that the certificate is not trusted, I copied it on to the desktop and tried to delete it from keychain access but I received this message:

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 4.03.18 PM.png

The next strangeness I noticed were 16 separate "application password" entered for Tencent, in my "iCloud keychain." I don't ever recall using a Tencent service in my life. How can I found out where these came from? Is there any risk, should I simply delete?

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 3.15.35 PM.png

Thanks in advance for any help. Im trying to learn as I go.

Taz Mangus

macrumors 604
Mar 10, 2011
It appears that you probably had keychain saved in iCloud.

Last edited:

Honza1

macrumors 6502a
Nov 30, 2013
US
Keychain stores mainly computer related passwords and lots of other stuff. Safari passwords are quite relatively newish thing.
That tencent password was saved by you in June 2019 (and one in July). May be you read Wallstreet journal that day and it saved this stuff?