Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anorion

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 29, 2007
Hi, everyone. I'm looking to replace my ancient Dell Inspiron 8600 with a MacBook in the coming weeks. I've done a lot of research into this, both here and other places on the interwebs, and I expect to be very happy with it, except for one minor thing - the listed battery life. I'm a college student, and tend to end up working for extended periods of time away from power sources. On my current Dell laptop with the 9-cell battery (it's not the original one, but the same as the original), I can eek out a little over nine hours (!) of use for writing, chatting online, and browsing the internet. I turn the screen brightness all the way down, disable the bluetooth device, turning the power down to the intel wireless adapter, and don't close or open programs unless I have to (so the disk doesn't spin), all to save as much power as I can. I'm usually working in dark places anyway, so the screen brightness being very low doesn't bother me much.

Anyway, the battery life listed on Apple's site is listed at 6 hours, which is encouraging to me, but I was wondering what the absolute most amount of time anyone has managed to scrape out before the battery on one of these beauties gives up the ghost?

TheStu

macrumors 65816
Aug 20, 2006
Carlisle, PA
Shortly after I got my MacBook I would generally average 4+ hrs with wifi on, backlight at about half, and listening to music.

If you keep the backlight low, the wireless off, and don't do anything too intensive, you will keep the life up.

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!
If battery life is really that imperative to you, you might want to buy secondary battery.