Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fluxiipie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 20, 2021
Hi, soooo i'm studying software (computer science), and I wanna buy my first mac, but I'm unsure which to buy, and which config would be the most fitting...

I'm considering the following configs but I'm happily taking suggestions/recommendations!

- M1 pro 16 Gb memory 512 Gb SSD 8 core cpu
- M1 pro 16 Gb memory 512 Gb SSD 10 core cpu

- M1 pro 16 Gb memory 1 Tb SSD 8 core cpu
- M1 pro 16 Gb memory 1 Tb SSD 10 core cpu

- M1 pro 32 Gb memory 512 Gb SSD 8 core cpu
- M1 pro 32 Gb memory 512 Gb SSD 10 core cpu

I'm unsure of what other info to include, so feel free to request info that is required to be able to help me :)

kschendel

macrumors 65816
Dec 9, 2014
To be honest, a Macbook Air with 16GB memory and 512GB storage would probably be just fine. I think the only thing you really need is that 16GB minimum memory.

If you expect to be doing some reasonably serious work (very large projects, multiple large simultaneously active VM's, etc), my guess is that the resource you'll run out of first will be memory, which would suggest the 32GB 8-core Pro.

The choice of 512GB or 1TB storage is almost impossible to decide at a distance. You can always add external storage or archive stuff to an external drive. If you are a junk collector, or if you're going to keep a ton of music / movies / photos there too, the 1TB drive might be a better choice. I can't imagine that you'll need more than a couple hundred GB for actual schoolwork.

As a point of reference, I can (if necessary) do actual DBMS development work in a linux VM on my late 2013 rMBP with 16GB memory, quad-core i7, and 256GB of storage. It's not my preferred mode of operation but it's perfectly adequate. An m1 Air would almost certainly leave my laptop in the dust. I don't think you will have a problem no matter which one you pick.

Fluxiipie