Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

appkov

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2009
Hello, this is my first time on this forum so I hope this is the correct place to ask this question. I own two Mac Pro (Late 2013) "trashcans". With one, I had been using two Apple Cinema Displays, both 27" Model A1316.

Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Processor: 2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory: 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Graphics: AMD FirePro D700 6 GB

Two days ago, all the Thunderbolt ports on my first Mac Pro stopped working. I had upgraded to Monterey a few weeks ago and everything was working fine but I thought it could be the cause. Imagine my surprise when I plugged each monitor into my other Mac Pro (running Catalina) and found that all those ports didn't work either. I then thought that maybe it was the monitors but I plugged them into my old MacBook Pro laptop (running Sierra) and both monitors worked fine. Now I am really confused.

I am now using an HDMI monitor through the HDMI port of my main Mac Pro and the computer seems to be functioning perfectly well.

Any help would be very greatly appreciated. as I don't know how to begin to try to solve this issue. Cheers!

SpotOnT

macrumors 6502a
Dec 7, 2016
That is very odd! There have been some firmware updates for the Mac Pro, but if that was the issue, it would have happened when you upgraded your Mac, not a few weeks later. The fact that it is happening on two separate Mac Pros at the exact same time, still has me leaning towards some firmware/software incompatibility issue with the Cinema Display though. It seems unlikely you would develop the same hardware failure on two separate Macs at the exact same time.

How is your Mac Pro connected to the Cinema Displays? Are they the ones with DVI or Mini DisplayPort?