Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Marsikus

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 12, 2020
AE
I was looking at Microsoft Surface laptop for Windows machine when noticed that Samsung is in laptop business again.
Any thoughts or experience on this regard?

1BadManVan

macrumors 68040
Dec 20, 2009
Bc Canada
Some people seem to love the new Samsung line up in their galaxy book series. They seem like a well built laptop, a lot less bezel on the screen then the surface laptops as well which helps it feel more modern.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
when noticed that Samsung is in laptop business again.
Just eyeballing the specs, the Galaxy Book2 Pro looks like a good machine. I have no experience or knowledge of their build quality but on paper it seems good.

Here's a review from a Yter that I like

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
I checked in Samsung store two days ago, unfortunately they don’t have laptops here.

1671019252442.png

Marsikus

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 12, 2020
AE
I am not in the US, though local Amazon has some Samsung laptops, but that is not official distribution.

Technerd108

macrumors 68030
Oct 24, 2021
Surface devices are much different than Galaxy books. Software on Galaxy Book is like Galaxy android with a ton of added software vs Surface which has minimal bloat and is closer to a Pixel.

That being said the Galaxybook 2 pro not pro 360 is a decent laptop. The hardware and build quality is nice but the surface is better. The screen is only 1080p compared to the surface 2k but it is Amoled. The problem with the galaxybook pro vs pro 360 is the screen quality is not as good. It has a grainy texture that is very distracting while the pro 360 has a better looking screen.

The performance of the Galaxy book pro is probably on par with the surface. You get more ports.