Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gsk158

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2014
I know with verizon you can just swap sim cards without having to contact them. But if i take my current sprint sim out of my unlocked iphone 5s and put it in an unlocked (paid full price on apple.com) iPhone X will it automatically work like verizon? I'm new to sprint and don't know if i can just swap it or do i have to go into my account and use the activate/swap phone feature.

protoxx

macrumors 6502a
Oct 10, 2013
Sprint and Verizon both have to have the phone in their databases before it will work. You will have to contact Sprint customer service to get the phone in their database.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
I know with verizon you can just swap sim cards without having to contact them. But if i take my current sprint sim out of my unlocked iphone 5s and put it in an unlocked (paid full price on apple.com) iPhone X will it automatically work like verizon? I'm new to sprint and don't know if i can just swap it or do i have to go into my account and use the activate/swap phone feature.
Yes, but you will need to go online or call to pair the new IMEI with the serial number of your SIM. If you had an iPhone 5c or less then you would not be able to do this as these are a different SIM type.

Sprint and Verizon both have to have the phone in their databases before it will work. You will have to contact Sprint customer service to get the phone in their database.
Any iPhone sold from Apple is automatically in Sprint's whitelist. It's only unlocked non-Sprint carrier phones that need to have their IMEI added.

JulesJam

Suspended
Sep 20, 2014
I know with verizon you can just swap sim cards without having to contact them. But if i take my current sprint sim out of my unlocked iphone 5s and put it in an unlocked (paid full price on apple.com) iPhone X will it automatically work like verizon?