Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

e-clipse

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 28, 2006
Nashville,TN
I am new to Macs. I was wondering if one of you audio tech savvy guys could help me understand something.

Back when I was a PC guy, if I wanted to spare the CPU from doing all the work I bought an internal audio card (interface) . The card then ran in ASIO
with virtually no latency. I could pile a multitude of tracks and tons of effects, while the CPU bar barely budged forward, and the music barely even hiccuped , even with only 512 megs of ram.

My question is, how do I get the same result with my MacBook Pro? If I bought a firewire 400 audio interface would that take the pressure off the CPU, giving me better results? Or would I need a Firewire 800 express card?
Or is this possible?

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
a run-of-the-mill firewire converter box won't do what you're asking. most DAWs are written to be "native", meaning the audio calcs, plug-ins, virtual instruments, et. al. are all running on the mac CPU(s). this is true of PTLE, Logic, Digital Performer, Garage Band, et. al.

a notable exception is ProTools HD, the rather expensive solution which gives you some number of PCI cards that do the calcs.

there're also the UAD cards, which allow off-loading of plug-ins only (and maybe virtual instruments? not sure). but plugs have to be written specifically for that platform, it doesn't allow any ol' plug to be processed on it. of course, that won't work on your laptop.

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
btw -- are you asking theoretically, or have you actually run out of CPU power on your MBP? i ask because the songs which maxed out my dual/500MHz g4 p'mac used only 25% of my CPU on my current p'mac, a dual/2GHz g5. i'd expect you could do a lot of processing on your machine before running into trouble.