Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jaybek

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 5, 2023
Hey, I currently have a 2023 15" MBA with 8 GB RAM and a 500gb ssd. I am an engineering student and do a decent amount of photo editing, and work in Fusion 360, AutoCAD, and Illustrator. For the most part, the MBA can keep up but sometimes it is definitely lacking when looking for a decent external display I came across the idea of getting something like a 2020 iMac for around $800, and using it as a desktop and then as a display once the internals reach the end of their usable life. I like the idea of an Intel Mac because of boot camp but wonder how long it will be supported, and want to make sure I get the most bang for my buck (ie. i can get a 2018 27" iMac for $500 but at that point id problly just be buying it as a display, I've heard of installing a 5k driver board.)

Does anybody have any advice or recommendations?

Thanks!

Last edited:

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hey, I currently have a 2023 15" MBA with 8 GB RAM and a 500gb ssd. I am an engineering student and do a decent amount of photo editing, and work in Fusion 360, AutoCAD, and Illustrator. For the most part, the MBA can keep up but sometimes it is definitely lacking when looking for a decent external display I came across the idea of getting something like a 2020 iMac for around $800, and using it as a desktop and then as a display once the internals reach the end of their usable life. I like the idea of an Intel Mac because of boot camp but wonder how long it will be supported, and want to make sure I get the most bang for my buck (ie. i can get a 2018 27" iMac for $500 but at that point id problly just be buying it as a display.

Does anybody have any advice or recommendations?

Thanks!

$800??? Buy a Mac Mini and a Dell 27" monitor and you will have a modern Mac for about the same price.