Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dallas Pilgrim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2012
I'm a newbie so forgive me if this is a topic that's been done to death in the past.

I've cancelled my order on the Apple store for an iPad Air 2, and was thinking about ordering it through AT&T as they're offering $100 if you sign a 2 year contract. The device fee to add it to my mobile share plan is $10 either way, contract or not, and I was planning on adding it to my existing mobile share plan.

So is there any reason NOT to order from AT&T? I could basically get a 'free' upgrade to the 128GB version instead of the 64GB version I had ordered.

Will these iPads come with the Apple sim from AT&T (do they usually come in the original Apple packaging?) or do AT&T open them and insert their sim?

I'm not too worried about waiting an extra week or two as I've managed until now with my iPad 2 bought on launch week!

iMas70

macrumors 65816
Sep 4, 2012
MA
Don't know about the simm but you are correct about the $100. discount. I got that when I purchased my iPad 4 and will be doing the same for the Air 2. I'm going to be adding it to my account anywhere so it's the easiest discount.

MacintoshDan

macrumors 6502
Sep 24, 2013
From what I understand you can get this discount no matter where you bought it if you bring it into an AT&T store to add it to a 2 year contract plan. If you do it after the fact it is a bill credit.

Dallas Pilgrim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2012
From what I understand you can get this discount no matter where you bought it if you bring it into an AT&T store to add it to a 2 year contract plan. If you do it after the fact it is a bill credit.

Very interesting! Would be a great combined with a Black Friday deal then!

eagleglen

macrumors 65816
Oct 2, 2009
Phoenix, AZ