Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

skinniezinho

Suspended
Original poster
Jan 1, 2009
Portugal
I've seen lots of thread about "loving" the various mac models,and what about the good and old powerbook g3?

This week I got an 333MHz "Lombard" in very good cosmetic shape,wonly without HDD!
It amazes me how a laptop could be so customizable.

Unfortunetly I don't have a charger for it to see if it runs,but asap I'll get one and put this thing on working order with os9 :)
Show yours too!

Some Links

Powerbook G3 on wikipedia

Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Kanga" Guide

Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Wallstreet" Guide

Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Wallstreet II" Guide

Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Lombard" Guide

Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Pismo" Guide

WiFi PC Cards for PowerBooks Running Mac OS 9

WiFi PC Cards Compatible with PowerBooks Running OS X

:eek:
14327872_beeae1ae10.jpg
:apple:

Hrududu

macrumors 68020
Jul 25, 2008
Central US
I've got a 1998 Wallstreet 233MHz. Aside from the appearance, its kind of a POS to be honest. I got it basically brand new (probably less than 15 hours of use on it) and the stupid thing is basically good for nothing more than OS 9. The graphics card does NOT play well with OSX at all and 233MHz is horrifyingly slow even with 384MB of RAM. I'm pretty sure it was also built using lead and bricks because it weighs in at 7.8lbs which puts it up there in the "luggable" category as far as I'm concerned. I'd really have liked to get my hands on a Pismo just to have a PB G3 that is actually usable and more mobile. Aside from those problems, the screen is much nicer than the clamshell and the speakers are loud.

Attachments

• 100_0870.JPG
    100_0870.JPG
    371.3 KB · Views: 731

Macdctr

macrumors 6502a
Nov 25, 2009
Ocean State