Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KeanosMagicHat

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 18, 2012
Recently purchased a Nike+ Apple Watch S4 but wanted the Silver Aluminium casing, so the only option was the Platinum band.

Would’ve preferred a Black strap.

I’ve purchased a 3rd party band (ATUP), but the silicone is extremely thin compared to the official bands and feels somewhat flimsy.

Does anyone own a 3rd party band similar to the Nike+ one below (in fact ideally in Black rather than Anthracite) which has a decent thickness to it like the official bands?

Any advice from 3rd party band owners appreciated.

MTMP2_AV1

mavis

macrumors 601
Jul 30, 2007
Tokyo, Japan
Haha, I've been saying this for the past four years, but it seemed like I was the only one who cared or noticed.

Every single third-party sport band I've tried (and I've tried bands from probably 5-10 makers) feels flimsy compared to the genuine bands. It's not only about thickness though - it's the material. Apple uses fluoroelastomer (synthetic rubber) whereas third-party makers typically use silicone. Fluoroelastomer is heavier, feels more substantial, and is (presumably) more expensive and/or difficult to work with. Third-party sport bands also have less space between the holes (actually, the same amount of space, but it looks more cramped because the secondary color is 2-3x thicker around each hole than on the OEM bands).

So, yeah. Third-party sport bands are ALWAYS flimsier than OEM bands. Whether the difference is worth it to you ($2 for a third-party sport band vs $50 for an OEM) is another story. For me, personally, it is. I try new colors with third-party bands first, and if I end up liking them, I always buy OEM. They just feel a lot better to me.

Last edited:

KeanosMagicHat

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 18, 2012
Interesting post – thank you.