Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gmanist1000

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Sep 22, 2009
I've never built a gaming rig before and have been using my iMac for PC gaming since my inception into this world.

I built a new one which you can see below.
  • Intel i7 4770k quad core (8 threads) 3.5GHz
  • GTX 780
  • 2 1TB 7200rpm HDD with a raid 0 array.
  • 120GB SSD for applications
  • 16GB (2-8GB cards) DDR3-1600 RAM
  • After-market cooling (not decided yet)
  • 1050 watt psu
  • Z87-A Socket LGA 1150 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • Case: Undecided

I'm curious as to your thoughts on it. I was looking to stay under $2,000, right now it's sitting at about $1804

Last edited:

thekingofnerds

macrumors regular
Jun 26, 2013
Looks good to me. Only thing I would suggest would be why not get a 240 or 256 gig ssd. It would be about $100 more but would future proof it quite a bit.

I cheaped out and got a 120 gig for my mac mini a few months back and I regret it - it's floating around 5 GB free constantly and I don't even have that much on it.

What motherboard btw?

ScottishCaptain

macrumors 6502a
Oct 4, 2008
I've never built a gaming rig before and have been using my iMac for PC gaming since my inception into this world.

I built a new one which you can see below.
  • Intel i7 4770k quad core (8 threads) 3.5GHz
  • GTX 780
  • 2 1TB 7200rpm HDD with a raid 0 array.
  • 120GB SSD for applications
  • 16GB (2-8GB cards) DDR3-1600 RAM

I'm curious as to your thoughts on it. I was looking to stay under $2,000, right now it's sitting at about $1804

PSU? Case? Heatsink? Fans?