Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheRiddler1982

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 10, 2015
Hi all,

I am a photographer with an Intel 2019 MacBookPro (16 inch) attached to a Belkin Thunderbolt 3 Pro. I do all my color critical work on external monitor (BenQ SW321C). The external monitor is connected via native DisplayPort cable to the Thunderbolt 3 dock. The monitor supports 30bit output which I have confirmed with the framebuffer pixel depth showing 30 bit in the macOS system report.

Last week, I have upgraded my MacBookPro (Intel 2019) to MacBookPro M1 Max. As the M1 Max is not working with my Thunderbolt 3 Dock (display stays off), I have connected my monitor using a USB-C cable which was supplied from BenQ (the monitor supports HDMI, USB-C and DP). I have noticed that I do not get 30bits color depth anymore. I have confirmed that with SwitchResX (showing "Millions of colors" and not "Billions of color"). Though, I can activate HDR which is 10bit per channel, isn't?

In the next test, I have used a Belkin USB-C to Displayport cable but with the same output, only 8bit per channel.

Despite looking for a available Thunderbolt 4 docks with a native DisplayPort (most are not in stock where I live), I am looking for a quick solution like an adapter / cable which supports the full 30bit output.

Do you have any ideas?

Thanks,
Sven

joevt

Contributor
Jun 21, 2012
I am a photographer with an Intel 2019 MacBookPro (16 inch) attached to a Belkin Thunderbolt 3 Pro. I do all my color critical work on external monitor (BenQ SW321C). The external monitor is connected via native DisplayPort cable to the Thunderbolt 3 dock. The monitor supports 30bit output which I have confirmed with the framebuffer pixel depth showing 30 bit in the macOS system report.