Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

douglas

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 18, 2004
I'm an architect using my mac for CAD, MS Office, email, internet (still using OS9!). Looking to by a new computer and now waiting until Tiger is out. But... is Tiger really going to be an advantage for me given my uses? Panther appears to be very stable now, and I suppose we can expect a few glitches with the initial Tiger release. Should I just buy now or is Tiger really worth the wait?

jackieonasses

macrumors 6502a
Mar 3, 2004
the great OKLAHOMA....
douglas said:
I'm an architect using my mac for CAD, MS Office, email, internet (still using OS9!). Looking to by a new computer and now waiting until Tiger is out. But... is Tiger really going to be an advantage for me given my uses? Panther appears to be very stable now, and I suppose we can expect a few glitches with the initial Tiger release. Should I just buy now or is Tiger really worth the wait?
Depends, if you need the computer now - defiantly buy it. Depends my advise is buy any Mac (except the powerbook updates imminent) Just to say, Tiger no doubt will enhance all of our lives, I remember the days of Jaguar when Panther was about to come out and i didn't think it could get any better - but now i hate going back to the seemingly ancient Jaguar.

Just buy now and upgrade later.

kyle

Punani

macrumors regular
Jun 16, 2004
Los Angeles
If you're not in any sort of hurry, I think it'd be best to wait for Tiger's release. Tiger is probably the most major release of OS X since its debut. In addition, if you like tinkering around with internal settings and programs that toy with undocumented APIs you may get irritated if upgrading breaks your customizations (Tiger should be the final version to do this).

cyanide

macrumors regular
Jan 6, 2005
Chicago
ouch

sjpetry said: