Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jerome55b

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2015
Hi Fellows,

My wife received a brand new MBP from her job (University).
Of course the device is mdm enrolled (didn't know this feature), tried to wipe it out by curiosity but everything get back in place as expected (enrollment request to servers during set up etc..).
Just to clear this out, i am totally ok with this as it's not our property, i also restored her personal Time machine backup on it and eveything runs smoothly.
My only question is if the next backups will also save some MDM files wich means that once i ll move to a new personal mac in few years and retsore this backup the new one will also embed this mdm set up.

I dont know if i made myself clear so don't hesitate dont ask me questions.

Thanks a lot

Brian33

macrumors 65816
Apr 30, 2008
USA (Virginia)
I'm not an expert on MDM -- I have only read others' posts. But my understanding is that there's nothing stored in the filesystem that forces the MDM enrollment. This must be true because (as you have apparently found), completely wiping the internal storage of the Mac will not prevent the MDM enrollment.

Since Time Machine (to my knowledge) only backs up filesystem objects, it's hard to see how migrating from this machine's TM backup could force MDM enrollment on a future Mac. I don't think you have anything to worry about.

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
i also restored her personal Time machine backup on it and eveything runs smoothly.