Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AlgarveGardner

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Hello team!

Another buying advice thread - im a LONG term stalker of the forum but never registered :)

Im on a 2018ish 15" macbook pro with 16gb of ram and its done fine, but with all the M1 hype Im thinking its time to jump.

Im a web developer / graphic design / digital marketing guy with a bit of video editing and adobe premier animation which causes the macbook to crawl

Generally machine runs fine ish - of course opening apps takes ages, rendering anything makes the computer unusable for anything else.

What im really struggling is when I connect a 4ktv - the performance just drops right off so Ive just started not using it.

I was initially looking at the m1 macmini - but am worried about similar performance issues running a 4ktv, this laptop has really put me off apple laptops with my keyboard which no longer works at all - and the external display issues.

What would you guys suggest? Loving the new imac despite the chin, gets me a nice big monitor which wont be sluggish - but as its basically just the macmini wasnt sure its worth it?

That was a bit of a ramble, any thoughts very welcome and enjoy your time of day!

Significant1

macrumors 68000
Dec 20, 2014
Unless something is bugging you with your existing machine, I would wait. M1 is very good for a version 1, but it (MBA 16GB/1TB) is still not as stable as my Intel machines. I get a lot of xcode related crashes. I am new to xcode so maybe that is normal ¯\_(ツ)_/¯, but my old MBA is not giving me those craches.

Reactions: AlgarveGardner

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
M1 is certainly faster. The main concern is some of those programs can use a lot of RAM for individual tasks. You should take a look at RAM usage when just one app is running your usual workload at a time.