Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
I don't know if there's been any discussion on this, and at this point, a lot of talk has subsided since hearing the tragic news but its something that I'm still very interested in learning more about.

I am by no means an expert in any of the technologies needed for submersibles. Yet as I read, watch and learn about OceanGate and Stockton Rush, its clear that a lot of little mistakes and mis-steps occurred. Isn't that always the case however when a great tragedy occurs? Its generally not one big bad decision, but rather a lot of little mistakes that are compounded

Carbon Fiber is an excellent material due to its tensile strength, i.e., under tension. Its not a great option for compressive strength and seems to weaken after multiple occurrences of compression. There was testing to determine the failure rate or the fatiguing of Titan

This video does a great job at highlighting some potential red flags during the building process of the sub, they include only having a single axis of how the carbon fiber was wrapped, the preparing and handling of the titanium rings, and the gluing process. As I said, I'm not expert, but it seems what was said in the video seems to make sense.

KaliYoni

macrumors 68000
Feb 19, 2016
Isn't that always the case however when a great tragedy occurs? Its generally not one big bad decision, but rather a lot of little mistakes that are compounded