Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
ambitious lemon... I went to your site...good site man. Im learning from the info you have there. Thanks for making it open to everyone.

Right now im trying to figure out wither I should partition my hardrive...if it be wise anotherwards. Since Im a graphic designer I use photoshop 6, illustrator 9, 10 and dreamweaver 4....and i love to use osx....and with most of the new apps comming out for osx..ie phothoshop 7. I was wondering if I could get some advice on what I should do about wither i should or shouldnt partition my harddrive and if i should how to do it? My computer is new so i havent put much on the harddrive.

Ensign Paris

macrumors 68000
Nov 4, 2001
Europe
For OSX I find there is no other way other that partition. Every machine I have not partitioned for OSX and OS9 I have had problems with.

Ensign

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
Okay ensign..so I guess I should do it. Now the question is....how do I do it considering I need step by step instructions since im not a tech person like most of you all. This is why im asking. Thanks ensign.

:)

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
Natick, MA
no way

Ever since the first official release of OS X, I have not made multiple partitions on ANY system that runs OS 9 and X. I have not had any problems, or performance issues with doing this. I truly appreciate having one large hard drive, especially when dealing with storing large files. I make disk images for 700MB cd burns and need to keep them in one place. If I partition up my drive(s), then I would either fill up one partition, or have to do it unevenly.

It is also a pain in the royal backside if you start running out of space on one parition and need to do it over again to change the way it is set up.