Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac_G_FiF

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2004
CA
I'm a total newbie when it comes to programming. :confused: I have no idea where to begin learning about creating mac programs. Its pretty hard to figure out a starting point when there are so many technologies out there, which one to get a hold of first. If anyone has any words of wisdom...or helpful resources...it would be much appreciated.

thanks

FiF

iBert

macrumors regular
Jul 14, 2004
Go to hear you've taken interest in programming. Don't know if you've be here . But it could be a good place to start. Also, check Mac Dev Center.

Think what you want to do first. That is, a plug-in for iMovie, iTunes, etc. Or if you want to start creating the next big app, everyone will want. As, for a programming language it will depend. Some will say start with C or C++ or Python or Java or whatever they started with. I started with C++, an a lot now a days is object-oriented. So, as soon as you can start with object-oriented which ever language you decide the better.

But, for starting C can be a good language. Get a hold of procedural programming and then start object-oriented.

I hope others say, what languages are better to start with. At least you'll have more options on where to start. But I strongly recommend, think what is it that you wish to build. Then look for info on what language will be better for that and go from their.

Keep posting should you have more questions. Thats what we are here for, helping one another.

russed

macrumors 68000
Jan 16, 2004
Mac_G_FiF said: